TIE Corps Battle Center - download page
 


 
INFORMATION   REVIEWS   BUG REPORTS   HIGH SCORES   STATISTICS  
   
Reviews for XvT-TC 61

 
 CPT Gytheran
    rating: 3
    10/28/2021
 I flew this as part of Raise the Flag competition 2021. Overall, the battle seemed straightforward with no major hang-ups. There is not much to say about it. It was fun but the battle did not contain any elements that makes it stand out from nearly every other battle you have ever flown.
 
 CPT Xye
    rating: 4
    10/18/2021
 I actually liked the story here. It's simple, and it keeps the maps simple, but there's something nice about that. A nice blend of dogfights/disabling craft, and mines that you can shoot for a change. And you get to fly a Z-95 at the end. Not great, but enough to set it apart from many other battles. In the last mission, just wait, the CRT will show up.
 
 LT Wolve Excelsior Berkana
    rating: 4
    10/16/2021
 I think I've decided to go play all of Frodo's missions. His sense of humor is great and the missions aren't specifically hard or long, and the story is always enjoyable. This is probably the best type of missions you can make. This one completes easy without issues.
 
 CPT Solohan50
    rating: 3
    10/14/2021
 I played on Easy. This is a fairly quick battle, though it does use minefields which are always a negative in my book. Especially when one of your objectives is "don't kill too many mines". I get why it makes sense for the story but I hate mines with a passion. Luckily, it's a fairly quick battle.
 
 COL Phalk Sturm
    rating: 4
    10/09/2021
 Yet another great battle from the Shire. Frodo in this one throws a serious story, of course sprinkled with his usual humour, that stands solid. The missions are closely following the excellent plotline and the player will play the ubiquitous T/A and GUN duet, as well as some more exotic craft, in order to stay inline with this fun story. Great work again, by Frodo.
 
 COL Genie
    rating: 4
    09/30/2020
 The real grade is around 3.5 But I always round them up. I did like what Frodotried to do, but there were too many problems with it. Mission #3 and #5 are stellar examples. In mission #3, you are penalized for being too good. You actually have to slow down else the capturing transports will die. At leastthere is no waiting in that mission. The last mission, the friendly forces make no sense. I did like the attempt to break the capture of the cruiser into parts and I'm probably in the minority but I liked the mines. Also, I do appreciate the difficulty of finding ways to prevent players from destroying certain ships. There are some oversights which show it was rushed a bit and I do hope Frodo completed it on hard before he submitted it .;)
 
 CPT Witcher
    rating: 4
    09/30/2020
 Overall, the battle is very good. Almost excellent - almost. It has fun, light storytelling, with a certain level of craziness to it. This is mixed with dynamic (and at times demanding) combat engagements - especially in the last mission (Z-95, not mine clearing). I must admit that some missions can get pretty difficult, though, especially on "hard" - especially the last one. If it wasn't for those sudden shifts of difficulty mission-to-mission, I'd be seriously tempted to give it a 5.
 
 LC acetiepilot
    rating: 4
    09/30/2020
 This set of missions makes good use of the battle progression system. While the missions are pretty quick to fly, this is probably aided by the concise briefings laid out. Not a huge fan of the mines myself, shooting them is more of a chore than anything. A decently put together battle that would be a good training tool for new pilots. No bugs to report.
 
 AD Hav Antiel
    rating: 4
    09/30/2020
 Marek Ny`Irfa was exactly right in his review. On one hand, it's cool to spend a whole campaign in one area with the same cap ship situation, but it would be better if the mission design limited your options to derail the story. This battle does that better than most. My only issue with this battle is the mines. I can't stand mines! Thankfully, you only have to do official mineclearing duty in the last mission.
 
 LCM Marek Ny`Irfa
    rating: 3
    09/27/2020
 It was an okay battle in my view. It tries to capture the good old style progressive encounter known well from both X-Wing and TIE-Fighter, but somewhat doesn't do a good job with it. In the very first mission you can waste the Cruiser which is mandatory for the entire battle's story arc. This is weird, given there is a condition preventing you from doing exactly that in mission 2. I didn't like the minefield appearing out of the blue, it felt quite artificial. And again you can waste the entire minefield in mission 1, having it there in mission 2 with condition that prevents you from killing too many of them (~20% is okay). Mission 3 is really tight on time. When in doubt, use your ions though and deal with stuff later at your own pace. Mission 5 was quite cool, it was certainly underwhelming to fly a Z-95. Do stay away from the Dreadnaught's rear, its engine wash can "wash" you away in a few seconds! Overall it's okay to fly, nothing too fancy, nothing overly bad.
 
 LC Curtis
    rating: 5
    10/05/2003
 I'm afraid I have to disagree with TK here. I thought this was a pretty good battle, the Mine field missions were great fun and action packed. I also liked the last mission, flying a Z-95 is a challenge after all. Nice work Frodo
 
 CM TK-9780
    rating: 2
    03/15/2003
 This wasn't one of LC Frodo better battles. The missions seemed rather flat, they never really grabbed ones full attention. A battle which needed a lot more work.