TIE Corps Battle Center - download page
 


 
INFORMATION   REVIEWS   BUG REPORTS   HIGH SCORES   STATISTICS  
   
Reviews for TIE-TC 9

 
 LCM Lo Mar
    rating: 0
    09/02/2020
 I like how, in re-labeling the names, they couldn't even get that consistent, alternating between Thrawn and Ronin. Not too much to add from other reviews - it's pretty much a carbon copy of the existing stock missions, with nothing really new or interesting added. I'd use it for RtF spam, but if I was trying to fly it for real with full effort? No thanks.
 
 LC Alejandro Araujo
    rating: 1
    10/05/2019
 Well... TIE TC 9. What could we say? let's do it step by step, shall we? Technically, it was flyable, it had decent moments tho you weren't really at risk of losing the mission save for a rare glitch at last mission where your wingmen tried to bring down the E/S ' shields when you already did so, ending on its destruction. Now, there are some messages that doesn't fit, some others have typos here and there. While I understand one could be inspired on original TG missions, we'd have at least try to make our innovations mingle well with the original structure and make it flawlessly so it becomes an enjoyable experience, even more for the mature player. As for the storyline, it doesn't make sense, even for science fiction: Zaarin did not manage to get MIS, The Glory was destroyed shortly before Zaarin died, and Vader was somewhere else busy betraying the Emperor. Also, Zaarin would never turn to the rebels- possibly a second in command would do so in a desperate turn of events but certainly not Zaarin...so its unlikely he'd have left orders to do so. Anyways 1/5 for being flyable, quick FCHG points. Briefing, messages, events needs work and the story should be redone as well.
 
 FA Jarek La’an
    rating: 1
    08/26/2019
 Unfortunately, this battle is in essence a poor copy of an original (Battle 7) from the TIE Fighter game. While it is rapid to complete and would be an ideal FCHG bump for a new pilot, it offers very little challenge and suffers from a number of minor issues and flaws. In short, the original battle did not need to be copied so obviously, if it was simply the concept being applied differently I would be happy enough, but it's effectively just an imitation. Disappointing to fly, thankfully not for long.
 
 LC Rando
    rating: 1
    07/09/2019
 While flying through the first mission, the messages were familiar and I thought it was a nice homage to the original. The mission layout was different enough that it hadn't yet occurred to me what was going on. By the second mission it was clear that these missions were lifted directly from Battle 7. Part of me hoped it would go in a different direction, but by the third mission it was clear yet again that wasn't the case. The fourth mission had an interesting twist fighting against missile boats instead of gunboats, but beyond that there wasn't much appeal to this battle. If only that spark of creativity had been used to to make more thoughtful changes, it might have been a more entertaining overall. Obviously the core mission design isn't that bad, considering who originally designed it. But all I could think about while flying the rest of the battle was how it seemed to be a lazy effort, and just wanted to get it over with. The quality of the briefings, officer questions, and gameplay just seemed to be slightly worse than the originals. So after submitting the BSF I stormed directly to the review page to see who made this thing. Oh. Wasn't expecting that...
 
 FA Giovanni Palermo
    rating: 0
    01/23/2008
 I thought plagiarism was a no-no? I guess I was wrong. It was nice to fly Battle 7 again, but not under the guise of a completely original battle.
 
 COL Rau Aznable
    rating: 0
    03/16/2005
 The ultimate déjà vu! Most of what can be said about this battle has already been mentioned. My American Culture teacher gave 0 to some friends of mine on a final work for doing this in the last year of college and I won't be any different with a custom battle.
 
 LT Tirna Q'jira
    rating: 0
    03/07/2005
 I'd love to give this a higher score, but based on the fact that it was a copy of a LucasArts battle from the original TIE Fighter game, and due to a number of slip-ups in terms of plot (switching GA Ronin and Thrawn around, for example), I have to give it a zero. I just can't condone any sort of copyright theft.
 
 CPT Dujhod
    rating: 0
    06/05/2002
 As everyone else has pointed out, this is practically a duplicate of an official LucasArts battle.
 
 LC Curtis
    rating: 2
    01/27/2002
 well done lucas arts and yeah there was some good name changing there!
 
 SA Kawolski
    rating: 1
    08/02/2001
 When I was a young pilot, this was the first EH battle I ever played. I remember IM'ing GA Ronin telling him how great the EH was but "I played Battle 9 and I was very, very disappointed because the author just took the original missions and renamed and changed the ships and stuff." After I said that, I was looking through the newsletter at the same time to see who the author was and realized it was Ronin himself. Whoops. He joked "You're not going to get very far in this club if you insult the leader's missions! ;)" Many apologies followed. :P ...but I still have to give it a low rating because it was a conversion of the original missions. Our GA's a good story writer, not a battle designer.
 
 LCM Pit Viper
    rating: 0
    06/28/2001
 I give it a 0 because it is just a copy of battle 7 in TIE Fighter. If I wanted to fly the orginal battles, then I would fly them in the game, and not download them from the EH.
 
 FA Mark Schueler
    rating: 1
    03/01/2001
 Just changing the names and craft types of some of the ships in the original battle 7
 
 LC Tempest
    rating: 0
    01/29/2001
 I'll also give a 0 rating because it's not more than a copy. The Emperor is simply replaced by GA Ronin. I only wanted to add that there's a little mistake in the last debriefing: "You saved GA Ronin!" That's wrong because GA Thrawn was saved and GA Ronin assisted in the operation...:P
 
 LC DS-61-4
    rating: 3
    12/16/2000
 Though a very enjoyable battle, it did have no creativity. Nevertheless, it was very fun and entertaining. I give it a 5 for funfactor and a 0 for creativity.
 
 CPT Bret K'thraz
    rating: 0
    11/19/2000
 Bah, the battle is great. Of course, that's because it was created by the folks at LucasArts. Good old Ronin just renamed the ships. So, it's a zero for illegal copying :P
 
 CPT Cmr Brown
    rating: 3
    10/01/2000
 Not as bad, but not as good as most other battles. It's like a repeat of the older TIE missions. Just some name changing.
 
 GN Drake
    rating: 3
    05/09/2000
 Im sure somebody could have come up with an original battle..
 
 COL Kermee
    rating: 1
    01/23/2000
 If i wanted to Play TIE Battle 7, i'd do it in TIE. This battle was boring, unoriginal and it was a pleasure to get it over with
 
 VA Wlodek
    rating: 3
    11/21/1999
 Copy of TF battle 7 i think. So it's 5 for design :) and 0 for creativity.