XWA-DB 2: Battle of Sharnall

Battle Information

Game platform: X-Wing Alliance
Missions: 6
Release date: 2002-03-14
Last updated: 2012-11-02
Average rating: 1.9
Reviews: 11
Bug reports: 1
Times completed: 158
Patches used
  • Emperor's Hammer Crest
  • Battle Reviews

    COL Phalk Sturm

    3

    2020-09-27

    This battle was a bit disappointing. The story is simple but effective. The first missions were fun to fly but then a long and tedious mission arrives where you have to fly across the whole galaxy in an endless sequence of hard to do assignments, destroying capital ships with limted resources. Also in one of the last missions a captured T/A can be wiped out by your command ship, this is most annoying


    GN Anahorn Dempsey

    1

    2008-04-13

    Basic story is nice, but there is still much to be desired when it comes to this. Mission 3 is way too long. After destroying the INT, why wait for a convoy? Also, I hate the use of invincibility on the ISD Delnaar. If you don't want it destroyed, have it hyper out. This way, the MIS and T/D are wasting their time and ammo on a ship they can't destroy anyway (leaving you to kill the INT all by yourself), and why are they gunning for the ISD anyway when the INT is the obvious threat/primary goal? In mission 5, the ATR destroys the mission, since taking on a ATR in an R-41 is suicide. Mission 6 is just ridiculous. If the scrolls are that important, why endanger everything by sending out the crappiest fighter you have.


    VA Astix

    0

    2005-03-01

    A pretty poor battle, I feel. In all missions, bugs are rife. The plotline has no natural progression explaining what's going on, and the battles have a very "close quarters" feel to them- no space to breath or plan the battle.


    GN Master

    3

    2005-01-28

    I just updated this battle removing all the bugs and changing mission one until it made sense :P I recommend this battle as its quite a lot of fun.


    CM Renoshi Bespin

    1

    2003-02-06

    Up to mission #5, I felt this was an excellent battle. But that mission was really what killed the fun for me. Just too frustrating and way too much hassle.


    COL Rau Aznable

    1

    2003-01-02

    I was just playing mission 5 of this one. There's not much more I can add to what it has already been said. The bug on mission 1 should be stated on the briefing INSTEAD of the failed mission tips. English in this one is the worst I've seen. And frankly... telling us to fly a R-41 is "ok", but telling us to fly it with a wingman that we have to protect from a T/A that we have to make it follow us to another area, and that it can be destroyed by our friendlies sometimes is just lunatic.


    LC Archon

    2

    2002-12-04

    It's the Turkey Shoot of Sharnall again...the worst was slaughtering a few waves of Pinooks in a T/D. Thanks for the heart attack there, I thought I wasn't going to survive that savage resistance. Plus I had little idea what the heck was going on or what I was looking for, though in the end it makes sense in a loose way. I like the 4th mission with all that scripting, nice touch.


    COL Deimos

    2

    2002-06-05

    Colorful and demanding, this battle has several weak spots: Mission objectives are not properly stated and it is hard to figure out what is required; English sounds rather poor which adds to the confusion; occasionally the battle is overwhelmimg in numbers of craft, targets and enemies. This is not a battle I would recommend in present condition.


    LT Arcanian Stirner

    0

    2002-05-21

    As creator I would like to add only that correctors messed up begining of the first mission. It don't suit to TC battle anymore, don't suit to breifing and is against what I planned. Also I encounter in second mission in not following VSD Excidium as she should.


    COL TK-7764

    4

    2002-05-04

    Good mission. Not to hard, not to easy. There are a few mission you have to fly a few times to beat but it is okay. My only problem with this battle is the horrible English. I guess it has a good plot, I would not know since I don't read backwards English.


    COL Fenn Logan

    4

    2002-03-27

    Very imaginative Plotline, but I couldn't complete the battle because of the bug in mission three and unusually difficult victory conditions in mission 5--even on easy. :(


    Battle Bug Reports

    GN Dunta Polo

    2009-12-24

    Throughout: Poor english makes the plot, dialogue and objectives difficult to understand at times.

    Mission 2: Enemy craft fire on navbuoys. GPLTs at the enemy base fly around.

    Mission 3: ISD Delnar is invincible. Supply convoy has no cargo, instead the ship names spell out the cargo.

    Mission 4: CNVYR flies straight through the enemy FRG after being controlled by the jedi.

    Mission 5: T/A Greco is invincible. Although perhaps this isn't so bad given how much of a ***** the mission is already.


    High Scores

    Battle Total: 116,635 COL Deimos
    Mission 1: 50,587 COL Deimos
    Mission 2: 28,066 COL Deimos
    Mission 3: 21,292 COL Deimos
    Mission 4: 10,312 COL Rau Aznable
    Mission 5: 3,796 MAJ Praetorian
    Mission 6: 4,760 CPT Vertigo

    Top Ten

    (Submissions since 2010)

    1 18,780 GN Dunta Polo 2009-12-28
    2 15,408 GN Anahorn Dempsey 2013-12-13
    3 14,143 MAJ Tuba 2010-05-24
    4 13,052 HA Zsinj 2010-02-18
    5 13,004 MAJ RichyV 2009-12-30
    6 911 COL Phalk Sturm 2020-09-27
    7 548 GN Rancorous 2009-05-21
    8 0 VA Thomas Nitecki
    9 0 CM Dakar Romson
    10 0 CM Xanatos Screed

    Battle Completion Statistics

    This battle has been flown by 150 pilots a total of 156 times.

    X-Wing Alliance Battle "DB-Battle of Sharnall"
    
    Author:ACO Eclipsse (Sith)/CMDR/Caliburnus of Scholae Palatinae
    	FL/LCM Arcanian Stirner/Aleth 2-1/SSSD Sovereign
    
    Notes:This battle is based on plot that I also used in TC battle "Battle of Sharnall" and in IW Free mission "Raid on Xyrith Shipyards". I suggest fly them also.
    Although I don't make them in special order I suggest fly first TC battle "Battle of Sharnall"
    
    *You need the S-Foil Patch and the EH Crest Patch available from the Science Office (sco.minos.net) to fly this mission.
    
    Files:
    
    1] Double click the .EHM file, the EH Battle Launcher will install the battle.
    2] Check the Misc folder in your XWA for additional material like patches, emails or sounds. 
    3] In EHBL, create a new "EH Pilot" in the Game Menu (Check "Prepare for EH Battle").
    4] Press the X-Wing Alliance button to start XWA and fly the battle.
    
    
    These missions are intended to be played after Battle 7: The Battle of Endor.
    
    
    THIS LEVEL IS NOT MADE, DISTRIBUTED, OR SUPPORTED BY LUCASARTS ENTERTAINMENT COMPANY.
    ELEMENTS TM & (c) LUCASARTS ENTERTAINMENT COMPANY.