TIE Corps Battle Center - download page
 


 
INFORMATION   REVIEWS   BUG REPORTS   HIGH SCORES   STATISTICS  
   
Reviews for XWA-TC 20

 
 CPT Solohan50
    rating: 2
    10/08/2021
 I played on Easy with cheats. I know folks around here have fond memories of the tug missions but I've always hated them and this isn't an exception. Most of the missions boil down to "fly to this hyperspace point...if you don't get rammed to death first". The only positive thing I have to say is that the last mission has a cool premise - capture a tug factory and then use the tugs to rain destruction on your enemies. Other than that, tugs are completely not fun to play against and require stupid, annoying gameplay to beat.
 
 LCM Marek Ny`Irfa
    rating: 2
    11/11/2020
 I suppose I will have to stand out of the crowd and say this battle was pretty... Crap. I can't report this as a bug, but this was a repeating issue for me and it might be for others too. If you have XWA HD mod installed make sure you lower the resolution for mission 1. It was always crashing for me at around 4:00-4:30 minute mark. All other missions work fine with the HD resolution. As for the review itself.. Mission one features a zerg of tugs that you don't really have to shoot down in order to complete. However, you probably have to if you want to get any score above 0 as deaths of the blue force stations count as... Your friendly kills. Even if you do not fire a silngle shot in the mission at all. Given each clean TUG kill gives you 75 points then looking at Bonini's HS for mission 1 and assuming my math is correct there are at least 1512 tugs in that mission. Good luck wasting your lifetime trying to shoot them all down! In mission two, it's much harder to get in fight with the TUGs since T/A has a lower power output. You cannot outrun the tugs and charge your lasers at the same time as you could do in mission 1. During like fourth of fifth attemt to get some decent score I just grew bored of it and decided to pass this battle with a minimum effort. In mission 3 we learn that former Dean of IWATS has a Natalie Portman fetish. Was this knowledge necessary? It just made the plot even more goofy and worse. In mission 4 you can get some dogfight done, probably worth most to go after the B-Wings. All in all, that's a battle probably not worth the effort to fly.
 
 AD Hav Antiel
    rating: 5
    09/28/2020
 This battle is incredible. I have many memories from flying TIE Corps battles, but none are as indelible as a mass of TUGS flying at me. The missions were fun, funny, and challenging, and I had a blast following the plot.
 
 LCM Germ
    rating: 5
    05/17/2020
 I'll never think of tugs the same. If you're going to fly one mission, let this be it
 
 LT Stryker
    rating: 5
    05/22/2006
 I'm going to have nightmares about TUGs for weeks now... *Goes to bed and closes eyes* "Tugtugtugtugtugtugtug" Argh!
 
 MAJ Aft Skylek
    rating: 5
    02/17/2006
 "TUGS are everywhere!!!" OMG this battle is so fun and enjoyable ... not to mention hilarious. I want a kamikazee Tug armada sooooo bad! Took me a while to get the third mission to run (had a problem with getting the patch to install) but I got it eventually and it was well worth the trouble.
 
 CPT Three Winged Turkey
    rating: 4
    07/31/2005
 Brilliant battle, the tugs are a bit of a pain to kill though. the ast tug is one of the greatest ships i have ever flown
 
 GN Master
    rating: 5
    01/28/2005
 Updated. If your still having problems with mission one before you fly remove XWAUP and turn down the graphic settings. Besides that, its one of the best in the Compendium.
 
 MAJ Ace Fighter
    rating: 0
    10/30/2004
 I can't even get to the battle cuz it keeps crashing during the breifing.
 
 LCM Danel
    rating: 2
    10/14/2003
 Well, a little tedious, long and good maybe to practice Gun training with small and fast targets. Not risks to be destroyed, maybe with another craft like Tie Fighter the mission can be more challenge.Tie Defender is out of place here;speed is the last parameter in consideration for shooting the targets in this Battle. Also,few creativity.
 
 COL Beef
    rating: 5
    08/30/2003
 This is an amazing battle. I didn't think it was funny, just fun. The tugs were very creative. I never realized how dangerous they could be! :P And that made the missions unique and a blast to fly. The other great thing about this battle is that it had a decent plot. It wasn't just a showcase of weird tug behavior, but there was a good story to explain everything. Great work.
 
 COL Vladet Xavier
    rating: 5
    03/16/2003
 This is an amazing battle, simply put. The plotline is hilarious enough to fly it, let alone see dozens and dozens of Tugs crashing into ships and platforms. If you have to fly one battle, make it this one. You will not regret it.
 
 SL A.J "Tainer" Brown
    rating: 5
    01/10/2003
 OMG! I still have nightmares about those Tugs!
 
 LC Dolsar Saris
    rating: 5
    08/09/2002
 Absloutely amazing!! and hillarious to boot!! Great plotline, good action, and the tugs are definately challenging. If you are looking for a good, interesting battle with loads of laughs, play this one!!
 
 CM Furious George
    rating: 3
    08/04/2002
 This tug fetish scares me...
 
 COL Rau Aznable
    rating: 5
    06/06/2002
 Very impressive, the most original battle ever! And the Astatine class Tug is a great dogfighter. You can go head-om with any rebel fighter, because you're so small that no fighter can hit you! I hope someday someone makes a sequel... maybe with special tugs the size of Capital ships or something :P
 
 CPT CTXclr
    rating: 5
    04/22/2002
 I've been seeing tugs in my sleep! And the Ast-class Tug is quite fun to fly. Excellent work!
 
 COL Torres
    rating: 3
    01/24/2002
 This has got to be the craziest battle I've come across in the 4-odd years in the EH. I probably spent more time groaning out of disbelief then I did laughing at the tugs. A must if anyone wants to the see the crazy side of the tugs
 
 LT Aegnor Sindar
    rating: 5
    01/22/2002
 HEHEHEH, remind menever to agree to play anything involving tugs again. I've never seen so many tugs at once! Classic battle that was hilarious as well as fun(if you like tugs). If you don't, then you'd best avoid this battle if you wish to retain your sanity.
 
 CPT Alexander Shrike
    rating: 5
    01/09/2002
 Bravo! Wonderful! Marvellous! This is the funniest XWA-TC I've flown yet. My compliments to the designer of the Astantine-Class Tug! Great little ship. Now off to hunt more tugs...
 
 COL Fenn Logan
    rating: 5
    11/27/2001
 Clap. Clap. Clap, clap. Clap, clap, clap. Clapclapclapclap....
 
 AD Daniel Licinius Trajanus
    rating: 5
    11/15/2001
 Very good mission! The only mission i have ever laughed out loud in