TIE-TC 43: Wing XVIII: Havok's Bouncing Baby Boy

Battle Information

Game platform: TIE Fighter
Missions: 5
Release date: 2009-05-31
Last updated: 2009-06-06
Creator

HA Ender mBind

Average rating: 3.7
Reviews: 6
Bug reports: 1
Times completed: 42

Battle Medal:
The Armor of Protection

Battle Reviews

CPT TheBlackxRanger

5

2021-08-28

This battle was my first run in with the tie dragon. Boy is this thing cool, infinite torpedoes as lasers? Say no more!

I really enjoyed this story and the missions were pretty enjoyable to play through. Definitely recommend.


MAJ SkyShadow

4

2020-07-01

A brilliantly laid out battle consisting of five missions. The story here is excellent and very well presented. The plot is about the kidnapping and subsequent rescue of SA Havok's Wife and Baby.
The mission briefings and officer text is excellently laid out with some tongue and cheek added in to boot.
The missions, while I didn't find overly hard, were great fun to fly and I found myself wanting to reunite the Havok family.
A must fly!


LC Rando

3

2019-08-31

Interesting battle. The briefings are well made, the plot and missions are generally good, with some challenge to them if you want the bonuses. Some of the missions had a few too many fighters, but it was tolerable. The final mission was the weakest, too many starships swarming around in close proximity, including a collision, and also some fighters leaving their hangars and immediately crashing into another ship. It seems that a chaotic mess was intended, but it could've used some tweaks. It's nice to experience new fighters, but I'm not sure if they helped the battle, especially in the last mission. The Phalanx Gunboat is basically just a faster T/D with worse cannon placement, and the TIE Dragon is a gimmicky T/B that dumbfires infinite torpedoes instead of lasers. Difficult to dogfight with, and care must be taken to work around the projectile limit. If you miss, it takes some time for the warhead to expire. But since nearly half the battle points are in the last mission, and there's a lot to dogfight, scoring may be difficult if you can't master the skill of dumbfiring against quicker starfighters.


AD Impulse

4

2017-02-04

I like this battle.

In mission 2 heavy lifters start endless tango trying to board their containers one more time

-1 point for humor (i hate humor in TIE battle)

The battle could be better without ship patches. They are not suitable for the plot here.


LC Tempest

1

2014-06-05

The battle is mostly unspectacular, with you flying around killing too many waves of fighters. Not bad, but certainly not great. I'd give 3 points so far. I deduct one for Ender, as always, using his silly broken craft patches for no reason. And one more for this:
In mission 1, you can easily prevent Havok's wife and baby from being kidnapped and escort them to safety, however, Ender completely failed to allow for this possibility. As soon as the shuttle is safely aboard the ISD, you get lotsa inflight messages how the mission was failed, and sure enough: you spend the rest of the battle retrieving the victims of a kidnapping that never happened.
This is such an epic design fail that I wish Ender was still around so I could flame him for it. Well, and because he's awesome. But it surely does not show in this battle. :P


Excellent battle! Splendid work by Ender I tell you! At last we got this silly Combat Record gap filled thanks to the competition High Admiral Dempsey came up with in order to do so. The battle is quite well built, no bugs on sight, superb balance of forces though a little bit on the easy side for Hard difficulty. And, maybe the most important, this is one of those very few battles which make GOOD use of the ship patches; this time they don't seem to be there just to be cool. Nope, this time the Phalanx Interceptor Gunboat and that broken TIE Dragon are just what you need to keep on with the mayhem. Thanks, Ender, I was gonna give you a 4 because it wasn't exactly what I'd call innovative but then that funny pic of Havok's baby at the Battle Room and the "Havok's Diaper-Medal" came to mind.


Battle Bug Reports

MAJ Hermann

2020-07-25

battle crashed in mission 5 returning to operating system.
Patched was installed manually because EHSP dont work in my Pc
Patched crats works fine but the mission dont start


High Scores

Battle Total: 367,717 LC Rando 2019-08-31
Mission 1: 26,562 LC Tempest 2014-05-26
Mission 2: 62,532 LC Tempest 2014-05-26
Mission 3: 73,059 LC Rando 2019-08-31
Mission 4: 59,903 LC Tempest 2014-05-26
Mission 5: 160,038 LC Rando 2019-08-31

Top Ten

(Submissions since 2010)

1 367,717 LC Rando 2019-08-31
2 302,550 LC Tempest 2014-05-27
3 297,867 FA Pickled Yoda 2014-03-02
4 280,991 AD Impulse 2017-02-04
5 255,557 VA Zósite Kónstyte Styles 2012-04-08
6 238,097 COL Phalk Sturm 2020-08-02
7 171,804 CM andr3 2021-08-17
8 152,380 LC Michael Emrys 2014-06-02
9 151,617 GN Anahorn Dempsey 2009-06-13
10 151,617 GN Anahorn Dempsey 2009-07-06

Battle Completion Statistics

This battle has been flown by 28 pilots a total of 42 times.

MAJ Aldaric - 2018-06-13

GN Anahorn Dempsey - 8 times, last on 2021-05-23

CM andr3 - 2021-08-17

COL Triji Boliv - 2022-05-14

FA Conker Blackwood - 2009-12-11

GN Coranel Both - 2016-06-11

MAJ Deleted Member - 2020-09-16

HA Elwood the Brave - 2013-11-09

GN Gilad Pelleaon - 2015-06-11

GN Golbez Harvey - 2015-06-29

COL Gyssler - 2017-07-29

AD Hav Antiel - 2 times, last on 2018-06-06

MAJ Hermann - 2 times, last on 2021-02-18

AD Impulse - 2017-02-04

GN Jarek La’an - 2016-01-17

LCM KEBLAOMEGA - 2022-01-19

GN Mark Schueler - 2016-06-26

LC Michael Emrys - 2014-06-02

GN Pete Mitchell - 2 times, last on 2018-06-08

COL Phalk Sturm - 2020-08-02

FA Pickled Yoda - 2014-03-02

HA Plif - 2014-11-09

LC Rando - 3 times, last on 2020-09-20

MAJ SkyShadow - 2020-07-01

LC Tempest - 2 times, last on 2014-05-27

CPT TheBlackxRanger - 2 times, last on 2021-10-31

COL Zeth Durron - 2010-05-20

VA Zósite Kónstyte Styles - 2012-04-08

Title               : Wing XVIII: Havok's Bouncing Baby Boy
Author              : SCO-TCT-TCS-PROF/FA Ender mBind/CS-10/SSSD Sovereign (#2886)
		      (endermbind@gmail.com)
Platform            : TIE Fighter 95
Number of missions  : 5
Medal               : The Armor of Protection
Version:	    : 1.0
Ships:              : TIE Advanced, Phalanx, TIE Dragon, TIE Defender, Missileboat


Required patches
----------------
* EH Ship Patch for TIE Fighter 95
* Phalanx Interceptor Gunboat patch
* TIE Dragon patch


Installation instructions
--------------------------
1] Make sure you have the EH Ship Patch for TIE installed
2] Download the patches from the EH Patch archive (http://tc.emperorshammer.org/patcharchive.php)
3] Install the patches by double clicking it in the EHSP installer
4] Double click the .EHM file, the EH Battle Launcher will install the battle
5] Check the Misc folder in your TIE one for additional material like patches, sounds etc.
6] Press the TIE Fighter button on the EHBL to start the game
7] Create a new pilot and fly Battle 1
8] Uninstall the patches by double clicking it in the EHSP installer


Description
-----------
Created for the Fill the Gap competition of the Tactical Office: "People will make battle to fill the 
gap (TIE-TC #43) "Havok's bouncing baby boy". Compton had his chance, now people will try."


Story Line
----------
Mission 1: Sector Admiral Havok's missus gave birth to a lovely bouncing baby boy in a hospital on 
Aurora Prime and she's taking the newborn to see his proud father stationed on the SSD Avenger. The 
SSD Avenger is currently in orbit around Eos, the moon that houses the headquarters of the Dark 
Brotherhood.
Spectre Squadron of Wing XVIII is assigned to intercept the Shuttle carrying the proud mother and to 
escort it safely to the Avenger's Hangar. No trouble is expected: with an SSD and its entire escort 
being in the area no-one would be brave, or stupid, enough to try anything.

Mission 2: The insolent and brutish kidnapping of SA Havok's missus and son has caused ripples of 
disbelief and shock throughout the Emperor's Hammer Territories. That anyone would be daring enough 
to attack the SSD Avenger from close up and do such a thing was basically unforseen.
Obviously we are now dead set on freeing the kidnapped woman and child. Because we had the task of 
protecting them, our wing could be seen responsible afterall. Our Wing Commander, LC Andrijas, has 
submitted all his forces to this task.
The first matter at hand is finding the kidnapees. As we have a good indication on who the culprits 
were, the attacking forces were clearly from the mobster run system of Genko, we are heading over to 
their system and do some looking around. There's no need to show any mercy.

Mission 3: The inspection of the last Genkoan platform yielded at least one result: apparently the 
Genko System was being paid by the New Republic Spine Security Force to kidnap SA Havok's family and 
had already handed them over. 
The leader of the NR-SSF, the Duke, has already sent in his "ransom note": The Emperor's Hammer is to 
hand over the Minos Cluster. Obviously we will not succumb to such blackmail and will now look for the 
kidnapees in the Systems held by the Duke already. Our spynetwork is buzzing with activity, so we have 
a good idea where to look.

Mission 4: Our last attack on an NR-SSF platform was partially sucsessful: We were able to free 
Mrs. Havok and she has already been reunited with her husband.
However, it seems the devious Rebels had split up the kidnapees and the baby was no-where to be 
found on the platform. Mrs. Havok did overhear a few conversations though and thinks her baby boy is 
held aboard a NR-SSF Cruiser in the Turnaki System, not far off from the Minos Cluster.

Mission 5: With the Havok family happily reunited and safe aboard the SSD Avenger it is now time to 
punish the culprits responsible for all of this. Luckily we have received information about a transfer 
of sorts between the NR-SSF and the Genko System, probably involving the final payments. This offers us 
an excellent opportunity to strike both parties in one go.
SA Havok will personally lead the strike in his private fighter, allowing him the sweet taste of 
revenge. The SSD Avenger Wings will offer support and escort. 

NOTES
-------------------
GENERAL: You need TIE (or at least all the ships involved there) with EHSP and the two patches. 

Other Information
-----------------

This is the first release of a very quickly made and hardly tested mission. 
Bugs could arrise - please mail me if they do - also if you have hints, death threats,
questions or apraisals.

<salute>
SCO-TCT-TCS-PROF/FA Ender mBind/CS-10/SSSD Sovereign
GOE/MoS/GSx2/SSx7/BSx4/PCx7/ISMx17/MoI/MoT-50rh-60gh-6bh/IS-1SR-2GR-1PR/LoC-TS-Rx1/DFC-Rx1/CoS/CoE/CoLx2/CoB/LoAx15/OV-4E [LGNR] {IWATS-AIM-GFX-ICQ-IIC/1/2/3-JS-M/1/2-OPT-SM/2-TM/1-TT-XAM-XTM/1/2-XTT} 


DISCLAIMER
===========
THESE LEVELS ARE NOT MADE, DISTRIBUTED, OR SUPPORTED BY LUCASARTS ENTERTAINMENT COMPANY.
ELEMENTS TM & (c) LUCASARTS ENTERTAINMENT COMPANY.